Skip to main content

The New Seven Wonders of the World

By August 10, 2019May 4th, 2021No Comments

We had the Seven Wonders of the World for the longest time. But, except for the Great Pyramids of Egypt, the rest were only distant memories. This was the reason for starting a global contest 2007 to the new Seven Wonders and this list is finally in front of us. Over one hundred million votes chose these places.

Taj Mahal, India

taj mahal india seven wonders

This one is the symbol of one great love. Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan ordered the construction in 1632 as a monument to his wife, Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal is an ivory-white marble mausoleum on the south bank of the Yamuna river in the Indian city of Agra.

Colosseum, Italy

colosseum rome

Also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre, the Colosseum is an oval amphitheater in the center of the city of Rome. Built of concrete and sand, it is the largest amphitheater ever built. Emperor Vespasian ordered the construction around 71 AD, and it was dedicated in 80 AD during the rule of his son Titus. Here Romans enjoyed their games – gladiator fights, man vs. animal contests, chariot races, and even mock naval battles.

Petra, Jordan

petra jordan

The historical and archeological city is famous for its rock-cut architecture and water conduit system. People today may recognize this desert location from the 1989 movie “Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade,” but during the classical heydays of Greece and Rome, it was known as an important caravan stop between the Mediterranean and the Far East. It situated in Jordan’s southwestern desert region between the Dead Sea and the Red Sea.

Machu Picchu, Peru

machu picchu peru seven wonders

Machu Picchu is the most isolated and challenging-to-reach of the New Seven Wonders of the World. It is a 15th-century Inca citadel situated on a mountain ridge 2,430 meters (7,970 ft) above sea level. Most archaeologists believe that Machu Picchu was built as an estate for the Inca emperor Pachacuti (1438–1472). Often mistakenly referred to as the “Lost City of the Incas” (a title more accurately applied to Vilcabamba), it is the most familiar icon of Inca civilization.

Christ the Redeemer, Brazil

christ the redeemer brazil seven wonders

This is the youngest among the new seven wonders of the world. The Christ the Redeemer statue was finished in 1931. Standing 30 meters (98 feet) tall and outstretched arms spanning 28 meters (92 feet), the simple but mesmerizing white statue of Art Deco design has an amazing view over Rio de Janeiro.

Chichen Itza, Mexico

chichen itza mexico

One of numerous UNESCO World Heritage Sites on the list, this complex is the most famous symbol of the once-mighty Mayan civilization. Archaeologists believe Chichen Itza emerged as a major economic and cultural center around 600 AD and grew for several centuries. In the center of Chichen Itza is El Castillo, also known as the Temple of Kukulcan, a Mesoamerican step-pyramid.

Great Wall, China

great wall og china seven wonders

The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications made of stone, brick, tamped earth, wood, and other materials. It was built along an east-to-west line across the historical northern borders of China to protect the Chinese states and empires against the raids and invasions of the various nomadic groups of the Eurasian Steppe. Several walls were being built as early as the 7th century BC; these, later joined together and made bigger and stronger, are now collectively referred to as the Great Wall.




Leave a Reply